jump to navigation

The Two Witnesses October 7, 2010

Posted by Henry in Eschatology & End Times.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Some people assume that the Two Witnesses who will preach the Gospel in the last days are Elijah and Moses, whilst others theorise that they are Joshua and Zerubbabel, and the list goes on. Could any of these be true? Let’s look at what Revelations 11 says about the Two Witnesses:

Rev 11

3And I will give power unto my two witnesses, and they shall prophesy a thousand two hundred and threescore days, clothed in sackcloth. 4These are the two olive trees, and the two candlesticks standing before the God of the earth. 5And if any man will hurt them, fire proceedeth out of their mouth, and devoureth their enemies: and if any man will hurt them, he must in this manner be killed. 6These have power to shut heaven, that it rain not in the days of their prophecy: and have power over waters to turn them to blood, and to smite the earth with all plagues, as often as they will.

In order to shed further light on these things we need to pop over to Zechariah 4:

Zech 4

2And said unto me, What seest thou? And I said, I have looked, and behold a candlestick all of gold, with a bowl upon the top of it, and his seven lamps thereon, and seven pipes to the seven lamps, which are upon the top thereof: 3And two olive trees by it, one upon the right side of the bowl, and the other upon the left side thereof. 4So I answered and spake to the angel that talked with me, saying, What are these, my lord? 5Then the angel that talked with me answered and said unto me, Knowest thou not what these be?

Zechariah saw the same depiction of the olive trees and candlestick which John saw in Revelations 11 and he inquired to know what these were. The answer is presented in verse 10 below:

10For who hath despised the day of small things? for they shall rejoice, and shall see the plummet in the hand of Zerubbabel with those seven; they are the eyes of the LORD, which run to and fro through the whole earth.

Here we see that the seven lamps of the candlestick are the seven eyes of the LORD which run to and fro through the earth, but more on this later. What I want to home in on though is the identity of the two olive trees which Zechariah has seen and we shall see who they are in verse 14:

11Then answered I, and said unto him, What are these two olive trees upon the right side of the candlestick and upon the left side thereof? 12And I answered again, and said unto him, What be these two olive branches which through the two golden pipes empty the golden oil out of themselves? 13And he answered me and said, Knowest thou not what these be? And I said, No, my lord. 14Then said he, These are the two anointed ones, that stand by the Lord of the whole earth.

It would appear from these verses that the two olive trees which are beside the bowl on the top of the lamp are pouring oil into the bowl (through two golden pipes) in order to feed the lamp. Verse 14 of Zechariah 4 therefore tells us that the two olive trees are the two anointed ones that stand by the Lord of the whole earth. So then to sum up, the seven lamps of the candlestick are the seven eyes of the Lord.  So what are these seven eyes of the Lord? The following verses tells us plainly what they are:

 6And I beheld, and, lo, in the midst of the throne and of the four beasts, and in the midst of the elders, stood a Lamb as it had been slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God sent forth into all the earth. (Rev 5:6)

5And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God. (Rev 4:5)

Clearly then the seven lamps of the candlestick which Zechariah saw are the very same eyes here depicted in Rev 5:6 and these are the seven Spirits of God (which are sent out into all the earth). Seemingly therefore the two olive trees are feeding the bowl which feeds the seven lamps with oil – so in essence the olive trees are feeding the seven Spirits of God. It is these two olive trees therefore that are the Two Witnesses (the two anointed ones) that will preach the Gospel in the end times as mentioned in Rev 11:4. Could these witnesses therefore be Elijah, Moses, Joshua, Enoch etc? The answer clearly lies in the fact that the seven Spirits of God that stands before His throne must be eternally before God’s throne and the two olive branches also must be eternally present to feed the seven lamps, which are the seven Spirits of God.

NB: This post has been updated. Initially on reading the KJV I thought the two olive branches were attached to two of the 7 pipes which form the seven lamps and therefore wrongly designated two of the pipes as the two witnesses. On reading other translations however it appears that the two branches are apart from the seven lamps and instead feeds the bowl with oil which in turn feeds the lamps.

Comments»

1. MSaltar - October 30, 2015

Man, you dropped the ball on this one, left everyone hanging.

2. Henry - November 5, 2015

MSaltar,
Sometimes it is easier to say what things aren’t than what they are. Sometimes scriptures are not explicit in saying who certain characters are or what certain scriptures mean. Rather than to add to the speculation therefore my post was merely to prompt those of a particular view to rethink what they previously thought on this subject. I can’t say with certainty who the two witnesses are but from looking at the depictions it would appear that they are not mere men.

3. Gerry R - August 15, 2016

Christians are the 2 witnesses. The Holy Spirit told me so on several different occasions. Ask Him for yourselves.

4. Gerry R. - August 28, 2016

Responding to Sawyer: Where to begin? In my previous comment, I was keeping it short. I’m not disagreeing with you Sawyer. I’m expounding on my comment and yours. Yes, the Father and Jesus inside real Christians. I’m not saying any of this to boast that’s why I kept it brief the first time. From the time I was little I had God come to me and show me things– mostly future, some explanations, some warnings. When a teenager in a movie theater, an old woman sat next to me ,spoke into my left ear “Not everyone can hear like you”. Then disappeared into thin air. I hear in the Spirit often and I’ve been hearing the trumpets for quite awhile. I have my new name given to me by God. Several times I’ve been in front of a person with another Christian present (different Christians every time) and the Spirit has spoken “Two witnesses”. I have a praise song that seems to be playing inside of me almost all the time. The two witnesses are prophesying now. The time is short. Trust Jesus and the new covenant only. The REAL Israel of God are Christians. Those who call themselves Jews but are not but are of the Synagogue of Satan are judged for their usurpation. They are Canaanites and Japhethites and Edomites. They are liars and murders. The time, times and dividing of time is ending. The natural points to the spiritual and the kingdom is here, now. Stop worshipping the Edomite (Jews). Keep your eyes on Jesus. Don’t look left or right. All those things out there are distractions. Remember Esther and how she kept her Hebrew ancestry hidden. That’s us!!!. Remember Haman was hung on the gallows he built for Mordecai: The Edomites and all those binging to Satan will similarly be destroyed by their own works. They will be killed by their own bombs, their own guillotines what ever have been their plans for Christians will backfire on them when the King gives the order. Yes, we will lie dead in the streets, but this is Spiritual and we are now about to rise which will strike fear in them that saw us. I don’t know how to say everything in words that I’ve seen. But it’s all, no ALL good!


Leave a comment